OBC Volunteer Training

You're invited to join us next Wednesday (3/1) for our monthly Volunteer Training!
We will meet in Longmont starting at 5:30 PM with food, basic training, and an opportunity to talk with
Deidre and Juan about how YOU can get involved in our programming.

Sara will also lead a training on LGBTQ identities, which will be engaging
for people of all knowledge levels on issues facing our diverse communities.

To RSVP, email Deidre at dsaddoris@outboulder.org.

Connecting Boulder County's LGBT Community Since 1994

Annual Awards

Clela Rorex Allies in Action award

This prestigious award is named for the woman who set the bar for equal rights in Colorado.  In 1975, Clela Rorex who at the time was the Boulder County Clerk issued the country's first legally administered marriage licenses to same-sex couples. As you can image, this courageous act created widespread publicity and criticism for Ms. Rorex but she never once wavered from her stance even with the risk of losing her job. Since that time Ms. Rorex has continued to be an important ally for the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer communities.

Clela Rorex Allies in Action Recipients:

2016 Jean Dubofsky
2015 Hillary Hall
2014 Anne Guilfole
2013 Barb Miller 
2012 Clela Rorex


Big Hearts Award

Each year Out Boulder recognizes one person who has made outstanding contributions to Boulder County's Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community. Nominations are now open for the 2015 award.  

The Big Hearts Award celebrates a member of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer community who has contributed to the community in a significant fashion. Inspired by Jean and Jack Hodges whose big hearts compelled them to found PFLAG Boulder, the award was first given to them in 2005 and has been given in their honor each year since.

We will present the award at our annual Garden Party on Sunday, May 31, 2015.

Big Hearts Awards Recipients include:

2016 John Hoffman
2015 Bethy Leonardi and Sara Staley
2014 Gus Spheeris
2013 Nancy Grimes 
2012 Frank O'Cana
2011 Bob Morehouse
2010 Glenda Russell
2009 Casey Gallagher
2007 Dave Ensign
2006 Randy Porter
2005 Jean and Jack Hodges 


Filed under